Twenty-fourteen, you feel good.

The new year is upon us. I haven’t written here in a while. The holidays have come and gone, and a cold front is chasing us down. I have two candles on my desk for warmth.

I joined a small business group that read the book The E-Myth Revisited: Why Most Small Businesses Don’t Work and What to Do About It by Michael E. Gerber. This book convinced me that I need to put processes in place for Red Room. The processes will make up the Operations Manual. (I’m a nerd, because this excites me!) It’s actually been fun to create these so far! They’re harder to write than you’d imagine. I keep saying, “Simplify, simplify.”

Mark and I are busy working on a new app for a very cool place in Nashville. We are planning for a future that is bright and creative.

Speaking of creativity, my fantastic friend Corey is undergoing a year of creativity. Each month she will focus on a different art form, such as dance, singing, painting, drawing, poetry, etc., and she’ll learn about it, practice it, appreciate it. I found this concept so simple and beautiful and fun that I’m trying it, too.

Year of Creativity

This month is: Dance.

I haven’t set any resolutions, because they’re hard to keep. But here I’ll share my feelings for 2014. I hope to be kind, open, honest, happy, helpful, creative, and expansive in the new year and beyond.

Cheers to the new year and the newness that each day brings.

Leave a comment