NaNoWriMo: Day 27

Last night I hustled to reach the NaNoWriMo par of 43,333 words. I barely surpassed it with 43,460. Today I’m going to get as far as I can, since tomorrow will be busy with food and family and fun.

nanowrimo2013 jessica bates

I’ve surprised myself with how easily this challenge has come. With just about 6,500 words left to hit the word count goal, it seems my story will be wrapped up, too, at about that time (or maybe with a few extra thousand words). I know there are some places that are thin, and these places will take some extra love during the editing phase. It’s exciting though, to see that I can do it. I’m about to do it. I’m about to have a first draft.

I haven’t gone to any write-ins. I’ve sat myself in my chair and said, “Do not get up until you have XX,XXX words.” I take some stretch breaks and tea breaks and coffee breaks and dance breaks. Then I sit back down and try to figure out what the hell is going to happen.

So far, November has been magic. There’s a lot of work to do in December and January, polishing and adding and subtracting. After that, I can’t wait for you to read it.

How is the month going for you? Are you doing the thing on your heart?

Leave a Reply

