dear baby: 38 weeks, 4 days

I had contractions in the middle of the night on Sept. 26. This is me on the day after.
I had contractions in the middle of the night on Sept. 26. This is me on the day after.

Hey, little bean. It’s a Tuesday in October. It’s officially TEN days from your due date. For so long it felt far away, the end of October, and all of a sudden it’s here, and soon you’ll be here. You’ll no longer be an abstract, a “what will he look like, what will he smell like.” We will know those things, and those things will change as you grow and morph into your own little being. Mark and I keep marveling at how not only will you be our baby, you’ll be a toddler, and a little boy, and then a man. And then we’ll feel old, maybe. Or maybe not.

I'm trying out the new floors in your room.
I’m trying out the new floors in your room.

Mark and Uncle Enni tore up the carpet in your room and the extra bedroom downstairs. There was so much dust underneath! Then my cousin Craig installed beautiful floors into those rooms. So now you have one of the nicest rooms in the house!

It rained all night last night, and it’s getting chilly today. Baron is ready for cooler weather. I can’t wait for you to meet Baron and Koshi. They are really going to like you.

We’ve had two amazing, lovely baby showers for you, and your room is stocked with pretty much every item you could need. After your second shower, your Nana and your Aunt Chelsea came over to help me organize your things. They are so excited for you to arrive — almost as excited as your dad and I are! We are so lucky to have so many great friends and family members helping us through this time of many questions and much excitement! We have a dresser filled with clothes and blankets. We have a bassinet that was made by your great Uncle Wendell. It’s beautiful, and it’s in our bedroom waiting for you.

Top Left: Fruit Baby by Aunt Chelsea & Aunt Maggie // Top Right: Bassinet by Uncle Wendell // Bottom Left: Sissy's duck punch // Bottom Right: Aunt Becky's cookies & Sissy's decorated pine cones
Top Left: Fruit Baby by Aunt Chelsea & Aunt Maggie // Top Right: Bassinet by Uncle Wendell // Bottom Left: Sissy’s duck punch // Bottom Right: Aunt Becky’s cookies & Sissy’s decorated pine cones

We are very ready for you to show up. I am ready to give birth. I am ready for you to rock my world, and I am ready to be forever changed by your presence. I’m ready to see Mark with you in his arms. I’m ready to spend many sleepless nights cuddling with you, watching you, loving you. I have been sleeping a lot in preparation of your arrival. I’ve not had any trouble sleeping, and I’m actually still pretty comfortable, though rolling over in bed is harder than it was without you inside my body.

baby's room

Your Aunt Maggie and I went to the Southern Festival of Books last Saturday, and I found an adorable little copy of Harold and the Purple Crayon for you. It’s small and cute, and it’s on your bookshelf.

Birth art by mommy.
Birth art by mommy.
My journal to you.
My journal to you.

7 true things right now:
1: Your dad put the car seat in the car.
2: He didn’t need the manual, though he did use it to double-check his work.
3: You have a blanket and a few outfits in the “go-bag” ready for your body to be inside of them!
4: Your dad is calm thinking of you coming into the world.
5: We have a doula named Zada who will be there with us at your birth.
6: I started a journal to you.
7: I’m drinking a cup of coffee and I’m going to work on my book after I write this note to you.

We love you, little one. We’re ready when you are!

Leave a Reply

