NaNoWriMo: Day 13

My first NaNoWriMo experience is going well. The par for today is 21,666 words, and I have 17,520. I haven’t written yet today, and I expect to get close to 20,000 today, which still puts me technically behind. I’m completely okay with that. I’d be surprised if I got to 50K words and was done telling this story. I think it’s going to take more words than that, but we’ll see. I’m not sure what happens yet to my precious characters.

Just thirteen days in, twelve days so far of actual writing, I’m already seeing how simple it is to write a book. It’s not simple to write a good book or a book someone wants to read, but putting words on a page consistently is simple. Sit down. Turn off your internet. Write. That’s all, folks.

I’m averaging 1347 words per day, and I’m going to try and bring that up some. Honestly though, I’m happy with the pace. I’ve taken a few days off, even, and I’ve managed to get more than 17K words out and on the page. I’m more focused than I ever have been on writing and completing a story. I’m more pressured, and not in a bad way, to sit my ass down and write. It feels good having this discipline. It feels good living in another world with my friends in the story.

I haven’t attended a write-in yet, though there have been many in Nashville. I’m not sure if I will or not. Last night I brought my laptop upstairs to write while Mark watched Skyfall on Netflix. I like the noise around me, and when I block it out, magic happens. I may go to write at a coffeeshop soon, but a big write-in may just distract me. It would be good, I guess, to meet other writers in town. We’ll see. For now this journey is personal, between me and the few of you reading my blog.

More than anything, I’m determined to finish. To get to the end of this story. I’ll let you know when I do.

Thanks for reading, friends. I hope you are doing what makes your heart happy.

Leave a Reply

