No Fireworks, Just Magic.

It’s been one day since NaNoWriMo started. I thought about staying up late on Halloween and starting to write at midnight, November first. The thing is, it was storming here in Tennessee, and there were no trick-or-treaters because of the nasty weather, and I just also didn’t feel like it.

plotting novels with notecards

Laziness, I can already tell, is going to be the biggest beast I wrestle this month.

Our phones weren’t working and our internet was out. Mark and I were just like, “Uhh, what do we do? We can’t watch Netflix? This is bullshit.” I tried not to think about the fact that it was Halloween and there were spirits out howling in this crazy wind, there is no such thing as the Bell Witch she will not come to you in the bathroom it’s okay to face the mirror it’s okay it’s okay.

So I grabbed The Giver and read and read. Lois Lowry: thank you for all your hard work, and thank you even more for your beautiful ideas.

Then Mark and I got crazy and popped in Seinfeld. As in popped the disks into the DVD player. How archaic! We laughed at ourselves and our society. We stayed up past midnight anyway, because winds were high and there was a tornado watch out. I did not start my novel that night. I wrote a few notes in a notebook, and I went to sleep.

The next day, November first, I did some design work for a client. Wireframing and drawing in my notebooks really cleaned out the Halloween cobwebs in my brain. I paused midday, around 2 p.m., to start the novel. It’s funny. I expected champagne corks to pop inside my head, and I expected screaming and dancing. Instead it was just me, keyboard resting in my lap. Me, looking at that blinking curser on an empty screen.

And then I jumped off a cliff.

I don’t think I’m going to share much here about my writing experience. Not yet anyway, until I know how it goes. But please know that I appreciate you reading my words, even if you do not know me and espeically if you do know me.

Thanks for reading.

xo

Leave a Reply

